Synchronize Entries

The Synchronize databases function at the Tools tab can be used to compare two databases and update them, for example if you have a second copy of your file on a USB device or on a server.

First, select the file with which you would like to compare the currently opened file and click Open. Next you have to enter the master password for the second file.

Now you are shown an overview of all differences.

On the left-hand side, you see the file with which you are synchronizing your current file ("External File"). On the right side you have the currently opened one ("Current File").

To ensure that you can compare the two files, you are shown the size of each file ("size") and the date of the last change ("Last modified").

The entries are divided into three categories: Not existing entries, Different entries and Identical entries.  

Next to each password which has been changed, you are shown the date of the last modification, so that you can decide which version you would like to use in both files. To be able to see details of the changes, select the according password and right-click it to View differences.

You can transfer entries from each file to the other or substitute one password with the other. Alternatively, you can erase entries or skip this password to change neither one. All of these options can be found in the middle between the entries. Select the desired option from the drop-down list. In the bottom left-hand side corner, you will be offered, if available, Recommended Actions.

Then, click Synchronize to apply all of the chosen changes.

 

Return to the Password Depot homepage (leave this help)